AOPO Names New Leadership

VIENNA, Va. — July 22, 2016 —

The Association of Organ Procurement Organizations (AOPO) recently announced incoming leadership to the Association’s Executive Committee for 2016-2017. Charles Alexander was named president-elect, Marilou Donley was named secretary-treasurer, and Dr. William D. Payne was named medical advisor-elect.

Charles Alexander is the president and CEO of The Living Legacy Foundation, the organ procurement organization (OPO) for Maryland. He has been active in the Donation and Transplantation Community of Practice since 1996, beginning his OPO career as an operating room perfusionist at The Living Legacy Foundation. Mr. Alexander has served as chair of the AOPO Legislative and Regulatory Affairs Committee, on the United Network for Organ Sharing (UNOS) Board of Directors, and has been an influential part of AOPO’s collaborative efforts with the Center for Medicare/Medicaid Services (CMS) to improve OPO metrics. He will serve a three-year term as president-elect, president, and immediate past president, respectively.

Marilou Donley has served as the chief financial officer/senior director of administration for Texas Organ Sharing Alliance (TOSA) in San Antonio, Texas since 1998. In this role she provides oversight in financial management and budget analysis, human resources, corporate compliance, and information technology. Ms. Donley has been active in several AOPO councils, as well as local and national organizations within her area of practice. She will serve a two-year term as secretary-treasurer.

Dr. William D. Payne serves as the medical director of LifeSource in St. Paul, Minnesota and is one of the OPO’s founders. In addition to his position at LifeSource, he is a professor of surgery at the University of Minnesota, and specializes in vascular surgery, transplant services, pediatric transplant services, hepatology, and liver transplant. Dr. Payne will serve a two-year term as medical advisor-elect and medical advisor, respectively.

Returning AOPO Executive Committee members for 2016-2017 include: AOPO President Gordon Bowen; immediate past President Jay Campbell, J.D.; Medical Advisor Dr. R. Patrick Wood; and Joseph Ferreira, member-at-large. As they end their terms on the Executive Committee, AOPO would like to thank Kent Holloway, immediate past president 2015-2016, Dr. Nikole Neidlinger, medical advisor 2015-2016, and Peter Farstad, secretary-treasurer 2014-2016 for their invaluable contribution to the Committee and the Donation and Transplantation Community of Practice.